Jacqsworld's Blog

Dialysis, Kidney Disease, Living life with Chronic illness

It’s Not Like They Put a Kidney In And You’re Good To Go

One of the things I promised myself when I started writing this blog is that I’d always be honest about my experiences on dialysis or my problems and pain associated with my illness. I wanted to educate people who weren’t on dialysis and I wanted people on dialysis to know that there are other patients out there who go through similar experiences.

So, I don’t want to do anything any different when I write about the transplant process. I am starting the second month of my transplant and for the most part I am still doing really well. My blood work as been so good that even the doctor has been surprised. I still, for the most part, feel great or I should say, felt great up until about a week ago.

I am currently having an issue that I’ve read 1 out of 10 transplant patients have – the area around the new kidney is very swollen and my doctor says that she can feel fluid around it. The area is very noticeably swollen and hard and quite painful to me right now,  more painful than the actual surgery was.  From what I’ve been told, sometimes this problem can be taken care of on its own – and from what I’ve read, it can also be drained, if it needs to be.

To be honest, it bothers me. I’m not sure why it does because I know that there are a lot of issues and side effects associated with kidney transplants and I knew that when I got on the list for one. I do believe that the risks outweigh getting a kidney and I’m still very happy about the transplant. I also know that this is just a small “bump in the road” and this will be worked out soon.

I guess the point of this blog post is that I didn’t go into the transplant process thinking that it would be easy or that there wouldn’t be problems. That wouldn’t have been realistic and if nothing else, I consider myself to be realistic. When I saw my doctor last week and I told her of my concerns,  she reminded me that it’s only been a month and that  I am walking around with an “extra” organ in my body. Isn’t it weird that they don’t remove either of the bad kidneys? They just put the new one in and they don’t put it in the back near the other kidneys…they put it in the front. ( Just a couple of interesting kidney facts for all of you who didn’t know that:-)

I’ll keep you all posted on what happens – as always, prayers are appreciated.

*I want to thank everyone that has sent me well wishes from Facebook‘s National Kidney Foundation page. I’ve heard from some people who have shared their experiences with me and that helps me in so many ways!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “It’s Not Like They Put a Kidney In And You’re Good To Go

  1. Hang in there with the bump in the road sweetie! It will get better. I think it’s great that you are so honest in this blog, I know you are helping a lot of people.

    • Thanks Anne! I’m sure I’ll feel better after I see the doctor again. I’m use to seeing her every week and now that she’s on vacation, it just seems weird to “miss” her.

  2. Robyn Cline on said:

    I appreciate your honesty Jackie! Fascinating that they don’t take the old kidney out. I would be somewhat bummed too. You have been through a lot and it is not abnormal to expect and want smooth sailing for a while. Just hang in there and I agree with Anne, it will get better! You are ALWAYS in my prayers and will continue to be. I love you much!

  3. Thanks for sharing Jackie….I love your honesty! Can I say again that you MUST write a book!! you have great “voice” 🙂

  4. catherine on said:

    Hi I was reading about the swealing the same thing happen to my husband and all they had to do was to drain it. It look a little scary they did with something that lloks like a long needle. I was my husband donor he had my kidney for almost 5 years he just passed away tomorrow will be 6 months from a heart attack. One thing I could say no matter how sick he was or how bad he felt sometime he always smiled ….positive attitude is very important!!!God bless you

    • Catherine,
      Thank you so much for writing. I’m so sorry to hear about your husband and I hope that tomorrow you will be comforted by your memories that you shared and the fact that because of you and your selfless gift, you gave him 5 years. You’re so right about how important it is to have a positive attitude. It can be difficult sometimes but I try.
      God Bless You! I will be thinking of you tomorrow.

      Jackie

Leave a Reply

