Jacqsworld's Blog

Dialysis, Kidney Disease, Living life with Chronic illness

Mel Gibson who???

I could be wrong but last week I think that I was the most talked about person on the internet, more than…Mel Gibson. Alright, well maybe not Mel but I was talked about – a lot. For those of you who haven’t heard yet, I got a Kidney. I got a kidney.
I think I am going to take a couple of days to blog about the experience because it is still quite overwhelming to me. First, I want to thank everyone again for all the prayers that I received. Not just the ones prior to and during the surgery but also for the ones that I have been getting since the beginning of the time when I started sharing my story.
I am a very prayerful person. I am a deep believer in prayer and I know it works, I’ve seen it work many, many times for so many people.  And if you don’t get anything else from my writing, I hope that you do understand that prayer works and you have to keep your faith…even when there are days when it seems impossible.

And… thank you all for every single time I popped into your minds and you prayed for me.

July 20, 2010 – The Call

My day started like any other day. I spent a lot of time online. I paid some bills.  I spent time with my son and my cousin who was visiting and I had dinner in the oven.  I was also waiting for Doug to get out of work.  At about 7:45pm the  phone rang. Being a slave to “Caller Id,” I  looked at the phone and noticed that it was a cell number but no name. I usually don’t answer those kinds of calls. But by the third ring, something told me to answer it.
On the other end of the line, the called asked me if I was “Jacqueline,” and I said, ‘yes.” He went on to say that his name was Chad, “from U of M.” My first thought was that he was calling from my son’s school about a 50 dollar donation that my husband and I pledge each year. At the time I hadn’t sent the payment in and I was sure he was calling about that.  So as I sat and waited for him to do his “fundraising spiel,” my mind kind of wandered.
He then repeated, “this is Chad, from U of M.” I then said, “alright.” “Jacqueline, do you want a kidney.” My mind was still not altogether with what he was actually saying and to be honest, I kind of thought, “how does this guy from Justin’s school know about me and my kidney issue. But then it slowly sunk in…”Jacqueline do you want a kidney?” I stuttered, “yyesss.” And he said, “good because I have one for you.”
At that moment, I started crying and screaming, “Oh my God, Oh my God,” over and over again. Clearly I appeared to be a crazy person because he asked me if anyone else was in the house with me. He  had instructions to give me. But I told him that I already had a pen in my hand. I shakily wrote down all the information. He told me that my kidney was on its way to Ann Arbor and asked me how long it would take for me to get there. I told him that I could be there by 10:30pm if that was alright…he told me it was and the last thing he said to me was that by the time he got to work the next morning…I’d have my new kidney inside me. Hearing those words, gave me goosebumps.

To be continued…

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Mel Gibson who???

  1. Pingback: News from Jackie! « Adventures of a Kidney Donor

  2. Love it, can’t wait for part two!!!

  3. Eileen Droscha on said:

    I am a friend of Anne’s. Yes, prayer indeed is awesome!. I’m so happy you have your new kidney and can’t wait to hear the rest of the story.

  4. Susan Robertson on said:

    Ok, I know I’ve heard some of this, but I wasn’t expecting a cliffhanger!!! Jeebus – when’s the next episode???

    This is great! So glad you decided to write it!

    :::: waving at Anne ::::: HI, ANNE!!!

    • Anne on said:

      Hi Sue, our biggest blog fan! I We know how the story progresses but Jackie writes so well that I am anxiously waiting for the next installment!

      • Susan Robertson on said:

        Hello, sweet Anne! I’m with you – sort of like when I was a kid, waiting for the next ‘Trixie Belden’ book to come out…hurry, hurry, Jackie!

        Just kidding – take your time. I’m dying to read the whole thing just as it comes from your keyboard.

  5. I loved the “Trixie Belden” books!

  6. Marjorie Stokes on said:

    Isn’t our girl an excellent writer? She has us sitting on the edge of our seats waiting for the next chapter. The whole family is just thrilled for her. And the prayers are still being sent up! Love you much niece!

  7. Cathy Robinson on said:

    Wholly Crap! Must you leave me hanging. I read the first part and just bust out in tears and keep reading through tears of joy because I can just about imagine how you must have felt and can fell your excitement by your writing and just knowing how important and how much you wanted this, and I am so getting into it since I had read on your website from one of your friends the night you must have heard you were getting a kidney and then I am stopped at the crescendo of excitement by more to come. I just don’t think I will be able to sleep tonight now in anticipation of the next writings. I mean I sure do know how this turns out, but half of the enjoyment and excitement is the journey. The means to the end. Crap crap crap, lol. Damn you are good woman. Would you just please start writing books!!!!!!! I am going to have to check all day tomorrow at work and get myself into trouble by not doing my work to check in on you, lol. Thanks for sharing your story. Good for you and you must have been floored and literly shaking like a leaf when you got the news. I could just about pee my pants….Okay, will check back in with you and hope you are doing well. I am a bit ignorant when it comes to recovery time, so I hope you are healing well and all is going on track.
    Love ya!

  8. LOL you guys are funny! I don’t mean to keep you hanging…I just want to tell the story exactly as it happened and you have to remember that at a certain point, I was on some pretty heavy drugs:-)

  9. Mary on said:

    Jackie!!!

    I loved the start of the story…sitting on pins and needles for the rest. I was with Anne when you called her..you should have seen the look her face PRICELESS!! You and Anne MUST write a book, you are both such talented writers!

    Congrats on the kidney AND the new life 🙂

    • Thank you Mary! I wish I could have seen Anne’s face. Your sister is the most selfless person I know and you’re pretty awesome too! I can’t believe Emma is on her way to college…don’t the years fly by?

Leave a Reply

