Jacqsworld's Blog

Dialysis, Kidney Disease, Living life with Chronic illness

Two Kidneys, One Working – And That’s All You Need

I’d like to start this post off with a reminder that the Lansing Kidney Walk is this Sunday, June 12, 2011 at the Lugnut Stadium – check in begins at 12pm and the walk starts at 1:30pm. Although this is a great fund-raising event, it’s also a good reason to get out, have some fun and listen to some stories from dialysis patients, transplant recipients, amazing donors, their families and friends. I’ve been attending the kidney walk for years and each year I have come away from the event having met some of the most awe-inspiring people.  I’ll be there this year too…not sure if I’ll be physically ready to do the walk but I will be there to cheer my team on!

Those of you who read April’s blog know that I had surgery on April 26th to have my right kidney removed. There was a concern about a tumor or mass that was seen on a range of tests. There was a discussion about removing  the left kidney too, depending on the time it took to remove the right one.  Well it took longer in surgery than the surgeon originally thought  so the left one is still intact.  After the surgery,  the doctor told me that it would probably be a week to ten days before we’d find out whether or not the tumor was cancerous. Being the worrier that I am, I was very happy when  he called three days later with the good news that there was no cancer present.

That surgery was very hard on me both physically and emotionally. It’s tough to have two surgeries in a nine month span. In all honesty, the nephrectomy (kidney removal) was more painful for me than the kidney transplant, which is exactly what the surgeon told me to expect. You know the old saying, ” I wouldn’t wish ( fill in the blank)  on my worst enemy?” well that is exactly how I feel about that surgery.

It has now been  six weeks (the usual recovery period) to the day since the surgery. After having some issues with pain meds and fighting the flu during this period, I am beginning to feel more like myself. There’s still some soreness and low energy but I’m feeling almost recovered. As usual,  I’ve had some loving, patient and caring people who’ve  helped me get through these past six weeks –  my husband and son being at the top of the list.  I can get pretty cranky when I’m sick and I’m sure they both had to hold their tongues and roll their eyes at me many times – I’m sure because I caught certain looks that passed between them.
I really want you all to know that my new kidney continues to work like the Energizer bunny; it keeps going and going and…sometimes I can’t believe that this little “used” organ works like it has always been in my body. Thank God my donor and donor family believed in the importance of organ donation!

So now with the obstacle of that surgery over and done with, I’m ready to enjoy the rest of the summer and move on to the next thing…whatever that will be for me.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Two Kidneys, One Working – And That’s All You Need

  1. Anne on said:

    Hooray for the new kidney working like a trooper! SO PROUD of you girl! The next thing for you should be a vacation…

  2. Raul Romasanta on said:

    Excellen, now enjoy your life and “lets all be organ donors”

  3. Raul Romasanta on said:

    I meant excellent,,,

    • Thank you so much for your comment, I plan on doing everything that I can to enjoy my life fully! Now if we could just accomplish the part about “all being organ donors.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

